Confession

Limbo. I would have to say that word is an accurate description of my life at the moment.

So I have a confession… I feel like every decision I need to make hinges on the outcome of one that is floating in limbo. Until recently, this uncertainty had become overwhelmingly frustrating. Now that I am not in school and solely focusing on job hunting I felt lost and confused. I started to lose my routine, a structure, and a little of my sense of purpose. My days were blurring together and weekends didn’t seem as rewarding as they used to.

While I watched my friends accept fantastic jobs or get married and move away I began feeling a deep sense of loss in addition to my feeling of failure. All I could hear in my head was ‘this wasn’t how life was supposed to be’ and ‘you haven’t achieved any of the goals you planned for post-graduation’. I spent most of my collegiate career yearning for real life. I couldn’t wait to graduate and make my impression on the world, but here I am… These feelings were becoming hopelessly loud.

Sheldon Cooper {The Big Bang Theory} – “I never admit defeat. However, on an unrelated topic, I’m never getting out of this bed again.”

But I realized something this week. This is exactly what I wished for; okay, maybe not exactly, but this is real life.I had been telling myself to stay positive, that I will soon reach my goal and venture into the amazing world of the big kids. But that thought needed to stop; this is the big kid world that I wanted. So I don’t work at a major company and I am not living in a penthouse apartment in midtown, that doesn’t mean I have failed. Accepting defeat would make me a failure and I have NOT admitted defeat.

With all that being said, I opened an Etsy shop to showcase some digital design work and I am launching a personal passion project with a wonderful friend in January {more about this project to come}. So back to creating I must go, but I will leave you with some inspiration… don’t be afraid to  Roar! ~ Ciao

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Basically Bubbly

Color enthusiast || Typography snob || Polaroid obsessed || Founder of Basically Bubbly

3 responses to “Confession”

  1. hellokorin says :

    I love this! And I completely understand and relate. Yes, I have a job, but I have no friends here and no boyfriend here, and it’s going to be that way for another two years at least. It’s hard not to feel sort of stuck. But you are inspiring! And I just wanted you to know that you’re not alone in feeling this way, or in life 🙂 Love and miss you!

    • BasicallyBubbly says :

      You made my day! Thank you for being so supportive and it is nice to know I’m not the only one feeling like this. You are fantastic and I know you are going to do amazing things in Texas! But I will say, Georgia misses you. 🙂

  2. stuckbetweentwoworlds says :

    I don’t know if you’ve been following my blog for the past year and a half or spoken to Yogi about me, but let me just say you aren’t alone in the slightest. I’ve been through the same, and it gets better. Don’t worry at all!

Leave a Reply

